I’m official! (sort of)

Big news of the day — I got my Finnish ID card in today. Met Wellu at his bus stop around noonish, and we headed to the Police station to go pick it up. I was going to try and do it on my own, but he offered to come with me, so I wasn’t about to turn down the offer.

After sitting for a bit in the police station and finally getting the card, which looks pretty spiffy, except for the required close-mouthed expression, we then headed to the bank so that I could get my electronic sign on info (or, as they say in Finland. ‘electronical’). Got that done, and then shuffled over to another cubicle, where I got added on to the travel and home insurance. Now we’re totally covered.

Finnish ID card

We then went to lunch at Golden Rax buffet…yes, I did that again. Because I love him. Although I have to admit that this time around it wasn’t nearly as as bad. We parted ways afterwards, with him heading back to work, and I went to first the Samsung store, than to Stockmann’s to check out their ‘Crazy Days’ sale.

The Samsung store was a bust, as I was trying to figure out how to make my phone realize that it was in Finland, since the Play Store wouldn’t let me download the bank’s mobile app. My call will be to Samsung next.

Stockmann’s was also a bust, because even on sale, their prices were just too much! I was in the minority, as just about everyone in the City Center was carrying around the yellow and black bags from the sale. But I felt better about not buying anything that I really didn’t need.

So, tonight was the first night of the drama workshop. The gal who was organizing it said she had 15 people sign up, but only four of us showed up. We had a good discussion and actually ran about 45 minutes past time. I’m the only American who signed up, which is really an odd feeling being in the minority. We meet again on Monday, where we’ll get in to the meat of everything. I’m leaning towards production, rather than writing or acting. 🙂

The leaves are all changing so fast. I’m taking pictures every day, and hopefully I can get them put in a time-lapse thingy so that we can watch them. Not sure when I will decide that I have enough pictures to do that, but you’ll know when I do.

One thought on “I’m official! (sort of)

  1. Take a picture of the card. Load the picture into MS Paint or some similar program. Just use black bars over the areas you want to obscure. Save picture. Ba-da-boom, there you go. 🙂

    Yay dramatic workshop! I think you would be killer in the writing department, but production would be interesting, too, as long as they don’t have you doing grunt work. Either way, hopefully it works out well! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

