Lazy weekend

Not much went on this weekend. There was the big time change, where we got to set the clocks back an hour (woohoo! An extra hour of sleep!). Watched the 1980 version of Flash Gordon last night — still one of my favorite fun movies. Also caught up on Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. The writing is so much better this season than it was at the last part of the first season. I’m wondering if they’ve added to the scriptwriters or made some other changes. Whatever it is, I am liking it.

I was adding to my photos of the tree outside, and thought I would post the latest, along with the first one.

Sept222014

September 22, 2014

October 26, 2014

October 26, 2014

I made the Finnish pancakes (crepes) again this morning, and had to sacrifice the first one to the crepe gods, as usual. But they came out pretty good. Mixed up some ligonberry jam with mascarpone cheese, and spread that on mine. Yum! They are also good with ham and cheese rolled up and then melted in them. I’m sure there are a ton of different ways to fix them, and they really are so easy to do.

Finnish Crepes

Finnish Crepes

1/4 teaspoon salt

3 eggs

1-1/2 cups milk

1 cup flour

1 tsp sugar

Combine the eggs and milk in bowl, make sure to blend well. Add flour, salt and sugar, and then blend until smooth. Cover bowl with cloth and let sit for about a half hour.

Heat a skillet over medium-high heat, and add butter until sizzling. Scoop or pour about a 1/4 cup of batter into the skillet and tilt the pan to coat the bottom with a thin, even layer. Cook until the top looks dry, maybe about 30 seconds or so. Then slip a spatula under the edge and flip it over carefully and cook on the other side just a few more seconds. Slide the finished crepe on to a plate, and start the next one, adding more butter, and repeating the process.

Fill with just about anything you want. Sprinkle with just sugar and roll up, or jam, add cheese or thin slices of meat (ham and Swiss were particularly good). If you double the recipe, you can store the leftovers in a ziploc in the fridge, and just microwave to warm up.

Tomorrow, I have drama club, plus I need to go gripe at Elisa for charging me for tech support. When I called, I had no idea that it was costing me money — the customer support person gave me the number, but didn’t tell me there was a per minute charge for the assistance! Cost me 25€ to get my phone working. It was a simple fix, too, that should have been done at the store, but alas, was not. We’ll see how far I get.

Oh! Big news for the summer of 2015. My mom and I are going on an epicurean tour of Italy! Seven days and six nights in beautiful Italy, doing tours and learning to cook the Italian way! I am so excited! And this is after a few days spent in Greece at AthensFest 2015! I’ll be taking lots of pictures of all of that!

Leave a Reply

