Day 2 (päivä kaksi) of language class

Shuttled myself off to Finnish class this morning (after watching an episode of Castle – more on that later), and dove right in. But let’s talk about the bus ride. Not because anything spectacular happened, really. Just, as I sat on the bus, looking at the window, I smiled to think about how ‘routine’ riding the bus was feeling. I wasn’t feeling that nervous, twitchy feeling inside, afraid that I was going to miss my bus stop (never mind this one was actually at the END of the route, but I digress). I could actually look out the window casually, paying attention to the shops along the way, mentally making note of places that I want to come back and visit (there’s a free trade shop that looks really interesting!), and simply take in the scenery. Most of the time, I had been consumed with keeping my eyes glued to the read-out screen in the bus, not wanting to miss my stop, so that I ended up missing a lot of views along the way.

It was a nice feeling, and I soaked it up for a while, before getting off the bus. And for someone who is directionally challenged, I was rather impressed with the way that I knew in just what direction to head off, what streets to turn up or down, and got to my destination without mishap. I savored the moment, and then entered the classroom.

opettaja (teacher)

opettaja (teacher)

Study notes for Wednesday

Study notes for Wednesday

Ah yes, immersion. Well, right back to being lost. Although, I have to say that today I managed to actually figure out what she was talking about a little quicker than I had the first day. I made my notes, practiced the pronunciation, asked questions (even one in Finnish, yay me!), and felt pretty good about it. I put on my coat, confident in my new-found comfort in these new surroundings, and headed out into the streets. I decided to take another look at the Moomin Shop (guilty pleasure), and went in the way I thought it located…

Oops.

Lost. This way? Hmm, nope. This way? Nope.

Did see this guy, but he wasn’t any help at all.

balloon boy

balloon boy

In the end, I didn’t find my Moomin Shop again (was it just a dream?), and instead found myself exiting in a wholly unfamiliar part of the city. Damn, this Forum Shops place is HUGE. Obviously, I found my way back to the bus depot, but in the process managed to exit on the far side of the block, away from where I thought I was going. That’ll teach me to get so over-confident too soon!

Met Wellu for lunch, where we shared some pasta that I had made (yes, I cooked!), and then headed back home for a nap and to fix dinner. I can’t wait for Shiva to get here, and give me a reason to be out during the day. She’d love this weather, as it is sort of brisk, but not too cold or too hot, and we could go to the dog park and she could run around with the other poochies (koira).

So, on to television. Castle. I love the show, don’t get me wrong, and I totally have a crush on Nathan Fillion, but this episode just seemed rather weak. I mean, Becket is still grilling the suspect and it is noted that they only have 7 minutes before the victims will be dead, if the guy doesn’t reveal where they are. Heck, they are in downtown Manhattan…they couldn’t get out of the precinct building in seven minutes, much less to any location in the downtown area! This particular episode was full of too many of those sorts of holes. I never took Castle seriously, but that was a bit much for me to ignore. Maybe it’ll just be this episode.

castle

And let’s close with a (warning: sweeping generalization) musing…why aren’t there any fluffy pillows in Finland? I’m not saying you can’t pay an arm and a leg and buy a nice, fluffy, firm, full pillow somewhere, but what about the cheaper version of that? Back home, I could go to Walmart, pay less than $15 and get a nice, big pillow that would actually give me some support. But here…everything in that price range has all the support of a piece of paper. Even Stockmann’s 20€ pillow was a disappointment. So, I am reduced to stuffing two pillows into one suitcase to mimic what should be a single pillow. And waiting until my trip back home to pick up my $$ Tempurpedic pillows. 🙂

pillows

9 thoughts on “Day 2 (päivä kaksi) of language class

  1. You’re picking up a pillow? Better bring lots of suitcases! The stuff you’ve bought (never mind what you left, intending to pick up later) will probably fill up three of them…ohhh, you’re in for a surprise!

    Like

  2. You’re right that pillows aren’t cheap in Finland (unfortunately). But about 40€ can usually get you a pretty good pillows. The cheapest places to get them are probably Jysk and IKEA.

    I personally prefer latex pillows (http://jysk.fi/makuuhuone/tyynyt/erikoistyynyt/plus/tyyny-everrest-terra-nova-40x60x14) and my wife is partial to the Høie Downfeel (http://jysk.fi/makuuhuone/tyynyt/kuitutayte/gold/tyyny-850g-hoie-downfeel-50×60. Both are pretty thick and hold their shape for years. They also happen to be on sale right now, so I’d suggest visiting a Jysk.

    Like

      • I have some pillows back home (in the States) that I will find a way to bring back with me. 🙂 I have these bags that you use a vacuum cleaner to suck all the air out of and compress stuff, so that will likely work, or as a last resort, I will just carry them on the plane (and put them to good use on the trans-Atlantic flight back. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

