Classes and more classes!

Today was a hellishly busy day (after my lazy Sunday!), but I did get a lot done, at least.

Here’s this morning’s picture, taken around 9:15am:

20141215_091100[1]

The first order of business today was a stop by the TE office so that I could have my integration interview. That went smoothly, with no real surprises. Apparently, because I quit my job in the U.S. and didn’t move to Finland within the next week, they deemed my job separation as NOT being for the move to Finland, but other personal reasons. It didn’t really matter, because I am still subject to the 21 week waiting period due to not having a degree or certification.

Note to those deciding to move to Finland, even if you marry a Finn and come over based on family connections: If you do not have a degree, then you will have a 21 week (nearly 5 month) waiting period for unemployment benefits. This does have some exceptions, which I am going to go in to next.

Now, since I was already signed up for a Finnish language course that was on the TE list, they will submit to KELA that I am taking a qualified course, and my benefits should start as of the date of the course. Or the date of my integration interview. The response to that question got garbled in translation, and I didn’t clarify it. My bad.

After that visit, I headed over to the K City Market, not to be confused with a K Market, and checked out their abundant supply of goodies. They have an “American Wall”, but it was pretty piss poor, and didn’t really have anything I couldn’t live without. It was mostly things like Paul Newman’s dressings, Hunt’s catsup, Starburst, and Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. Nothing too mind-blowing. Oh, and Ziploc sandwich bags for like six bucks a box. Ugh.

I picked up the Rice Krispies and marshmallows that I needed, and headed over to the KELA office. Got my B certificate put into the ‘Urgent’ queue, and confirmed that I had all the applications in that I needed. Then it was to Sörnäinen to grab some special candy for Wellu’s upcoming trip, and some dog food for the Shiva. Got her a really cool reflective halter, too.

20141215_200036[1]Came home and hung curtains, and then attempted to fix the Rice Krispie treats for the after-school party tomorrow. That is some evil stuff! Sticky and vicious. I had a hell of a time getting that shit in the pan to cool off. It was hardening up like lava even as I was trying to smush it in the corners. My finished product looks like shit, but actually tastes okay. If you can’t tell, I didn’t make Rice Krispie (or is it Krispy) treats as a kid.

Oh, and when I got home, I had a letter saying that I had been accepted in to this other (much, MUCH cheaper) Finnish course, which is approved by TE. So now I need to cancel the first one and put this one in its place. Fun, fun!

Day 15 Challenge Question: What do you and your family like to do on a Saturday morning?

Simple and easy: Sleep in. Nothing more to it. 🙂

#500words. Again. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Classes and more classes!

  1. wow you were busy!

    the only thing that i buy from the american selection is horrible ‘maple’ syrup which the sons prefer over real maple syrup which boggles me. also marshmallows on occasion for s’mores sadly there isn’t graham crackers so we make due with digestive cookies.

    i have seen people buying poptarts and i just cannot imagine spending so much on such junkie junk.
    the zip lock baggies… that one always takes me out too. i buy mine at ikea.

    i’m really not versed in what TE integration is.
    am i misunderstanding this or did i nail it….
    you left your position in the states, moved here and the finnish government gives you unemployment money while you are training for another position here which includes language classes?

    Like

Leave a Reply

