Taking stock.

For Tracie

For Tracie

My new friend Tracie always has such great posts, and I steal shamelessly from them. This is going to be more of the same, especially since it doesn’t have anything to do with sewing, cooking or other crafty things that she is awesome at and I suck at. 🙂 It’s also something that I think is a good way to start off the new year with. She got it from the blog Meet Me At Mikes, so you can click on that and go get your own list, if you feel so inclined and inspired.

So, without further ado, here is my shot at “taking stock”:

Making : some headway into learning this damned Finnish language
Cooking : hahahahaha!
Drinking : cold brew iced tea
Reading: Suomen mestari 1
Wanting: to go to sauna
Looking: for a sleeper sofa
Playing: in 2 Pendragon RPGs
Deciding: whether or not to go to IKEA on Friday
Wishing: my girls were here. And that I had some chocolate.
Enjoying: my new life
Waiting: for Wellu’s telecon to end
Liking: my evening language class better than I thought I would
Wondering: how cold it’s going to be in the morning
Loving: my new life
Pondering: do I buy a new sofabed or hold out to see if someone puts one up for sale
Considering: whether or not to do my homework yet
Watching: Castle, Elementary, QI, The Flash, Arrow, The Librarians, (and when they resume) Black Sails, Game of Thrones, Sherlock
Hoping: to learn enough Finnish to be conversational
Marvelling: at how far I have come in the past few years
Needing: to lose some weight
Smelling: okay, just as I come to this one, my dog farts. Ugh. Just no
Wearing: jeans, sweater, socks
Following: all manner of interesting people
Noticing: that it doesn’t seem as cold at 1°C as 40°F used to
Knowing: that I am in a good place now
Thinking: why am I procrastinating about the homework?
Admiring: my daughters…their promotions, speeches, creativity. Those three have it all!
Sorting: through all the receipts in my dresser
Buying: a sofabed. Soon.
Getting: a tax refund!
Bookmarking: more ways to learn Finnish
Disliking: vegetables. Still.
Opening: up my mail and finding my new Musti ja Mirri discount card. Woot!
Giggling: at some posts on Facebook
Feeling: pretty damned good
Snacking: Kulta Marie crackers. OMG.
Coveting: the elk in the freezer
Wishing: my girls were here.
Helping: explain some things in class the other day. I actually understood a grammar rule!
Hearing: the sound of mouse clicks, a dog shifting around on her sofa, my keyboard clicking.

That was actually kind of fun.

 

8 thoughts on “Taking stock.

  1. Making : no headway at all in learning Greek, Italian, or German
    Cooking : so much more…what saves me is that I don’t have any eggs!
    Drinking : Wine, of course
    Reading: The House at Riverton
    Wanting: to go to bed
    Looking: forward to going to Europe
    Playing: nothing exciting
    Deciding: whether or not to go pick up the boys early
    Wishing: that April would hurry up and come
    Enjoying: everything
    Waiting: for this to end, so I can watch the Americans
    Liking: the new series
    Wondering: how cold it’s going to be in the morning
    Loving: my daughters
    Pondering: nothing really
    Considering: whether or not to go pick up the boys early
    Watching: The Daily Show, Scandal, How to Get Away with Murder, The Americans
    Hoping: to get caught up before Season 3 starts
    Marvelling: at how far my daughters have come in the past few years
    Needing: to lose some weight
    Smelling: okay
    Wearing: Chico travelers
    Following: all manner of interesting people
    Noticing: that it doesn’t seem as cold in Colorado but it really is cold in North Carolina
    Knowing: that I am in a good place now
    Thinking: why don’t I buy some eggs
    Admiring: my granddaughters and my grandsons.
    Sorting: through all the stuff left when someone dies, and wishing he had made a will!
    Buying: whatever I like on Amazon, but I need to stop
    Getting: taxes done
    Bookmarking: some recipes
    Disliking: Mean people and ignorant people
    Opening: more mail for my brother
    Giggling: at some posts on Facebook
    Feeling: pretty damned good
    Snacking: on caramels and original candy filled with caramel
    Coveting: the pasta in the freezer
    Wishing: April would come soon, so I could see my other daughters and go to cooking school
    Helping: Cecilia by picking up the boys and taking them to swimming
    Hearing: Absolutely nothing, but occasionally bombs go off at Fort Bragg

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Noticing: that it doesn’t seem as cold at 1°C as 40°F used to”
    Wait until you decide that you’d rather it be -2C than +2C! 🙂 (It’s actually much easier to dress for…)

    Like

    • I found that today! When I got dressed the gauge said 0°, but by the time I got to the dog park, it was 2° and I felt so overdressed and uncomfortable. I’ve been tempted to leave off the jacket and just go with my sweatshirt, but I don’t see anyone else dressed like that, so I feel a bit self-conscious. 🙂

      Like

      • From what I understand (and have seen) Finns dress for the calendar, not the weather. Example 1: June 1st, it’s about 60F outside, I’m in a fleece, Finns are in tube tops. Hey, it’s summer! Example 2: October 1st, it’s about 60F outside, I’m in short sleeves, Finns are in parkas and have gloves on. Hey, summer’s over! (I also often feel self-conscious about not dressing the same, but I also am all about feeling comfortable, so I say screw it!) 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

