Walking on sunshine…

Jan272015

hahahaha…I wish! Haven’t seen sunshine in a long time! But now you have an earworm. Enjoy! 🙂

This has been a pretty good week so far. Nothing really to pinpoint, but just generally going well. I feel like I am finally getting the hang of some itty-bitty part of the language. I still have CRS (Can’t Remember Shit) when it comes to recall, but my pronunciation is getting better, and I’m actually understanding some of the grammar rules, which is more than what I could say about the rules of English grammar. We get to do fun things in class, too!

20150127_151835[1]

Tracie and I have been hitting the trails every morning so far, and we upped our distance so I’m reaching and surpassing my step goal each day. I even raised my goal by quite a bit. So I feel really good about that! Being outside in the morning is really a great way to start the day, and the scenery is beautiful, and it gets Shiva out on a longer walk for her to explore all manner of new landscapes.  Plus, I get to vent with another expat about all sorts of things!

20150128_091005[1]     20150127_082717    20150128_091000

I was wandering around a store the other day, and remembered Wellu telling me that Valentine’s Day is not a big deal in Finland. Of course, in the U.S., it’s huge (for the candy makers, the card companies, florists, etc), and the aisles are festooned with red and pink for as far as the eye can see. So, this is what I see in the sort of place that back home would be gaudy with the season:

20150126_162514

That is it. The extent of the offerings. I guess I’ll just have to be content with a trip to a resort in Antalya, Turkey for Valentine’s Day (or Winter Holiday). 🙂

These are my notes from my classes today:

20150129_222121[1] 20150129_222026[1]

In addition to Finnish lessons, I took advantage of my international classmates and learned how to say greetings in Japanese, Turkish and Arabic, and I learned how to write my name in Arabic:

20150129_135813

I think that’s it for now,

Nähdään huomenna!

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Walking on sunshine…

  1. “…I’m actually understanding some of the grammar rules, which is more than what I could say about the rules of English grammar.”

    That’s pretty impressive! I’ve spoken Finnish all my life, written it since I started school and got a nearly perfect grade in high school grammar class…and I can honestly say I don’t understand grammar rules one bit. (Sure, I can hear when something sounds off, but I don’t have clue WHY.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can understand some of them. The WHY of them is a mystery, but the rules themselves seem pretty consistent…at least the basics that we’re learning now. Of course, as the girl I sit next to said to me, “Who the hell thought these up? Why do those words change, but that word doesn’t?” Hey, but it’s a start! My goal is to start putting small paragraphs in my blog in Finnish by February. They’ll be VERY simple, but I need to get used to using it. 🙂

    Like

    • “Why” is always a mystery in languages. Ok, with some you can trace etymology, etc. to another language, but the question remains: Why then does that language do it like that?

      Like

      • You are correct. That comes from the book. My Finnish husband had actually commented when he saw those the first time that “Ah, they are dumbing it down for you all.”. There was another instance of that, as well, although I can’t recall where it is, but it was there in the beginning, as well.

        Like

  3. Your pronunciation improving means you’re developing the ear. It’ll make the learning easier …or maybe simply possible.

    Are those Mignon eggs I see on the lowest shelf? How did they survive from last year? They can’t be part of a new batch because it’s not the season yet. You need to buy some – they’re incredible. They’re the kind of stuff I would definitely send back home, if that applied to me.

    BTW, your personal pronouns under “osta” on the right are in the wrong order.

    Like

  4. I keep staring at the picture with the phrases… Did these come from the teacher? The one set that keeps bugging me is “Mikä sinun nimi on?” “MInun nimi on Maria.”. Isn’t that supposed to be “Mikä sinun nimesi on?” “Minun nimeni on Maria”, or have they changed the grammar rules?

    Like

  5. i love the morning walks. i love the routine of it! sets me on course to accomplish a lot in my day!
    so very positive!
    i love valentine’s day.. even when i didn’t have a sweetheart! it’s one of my favorite holidays. i always baked and/or had candy for friends and coworkers because maybe that was the only valentine they were getting. i’m a sappy shit like that ! ;D

    Like

Leave a Reply

