Dare I hope…Spring?

It’s been a long damn winter, and I am looking for signs of spring every where. When I got back from Budapest a week ago, Helsinki was covered in snow again! Gah!

This morning, while out walking Shiva, I saw some hints that spring might be here…or at least peeking in the window. I have been told that Helsinki is gorgeous in the spring and summer. I am looking forward to seeing it for myself…assuming that this isn’t a false alarm.

But here are some pictures to prove that I’m not hallucinating:

The dog park the day after returning from Budapest (just a week ago!)

The dog park the day after returning from Budapest (just a week ago!)

These are pictures from this morning!

20150409_171125  20150409_171120 20150309_084524 20150409_170635 20150409_171100 20150409_170027

In other news, I got in to see a physical therapist for an evaluation, regarding some issues with my MS and also about getting some rehab for my ACL surgery. Spent about two hours with her, doing all sorts of tests. Essentially, she is recommending some water exercises at one of the swimming pool halls, as well as relearning how to walk up and down stairs. Ugh. I hate exercising. Which is why I am like a fatted Christmas goose these days.

I have another few weeks of school left. My vocabulary has expanded, but I still can’t form sentences, which is a bit ego-deflating. I’ll take the summer off, then head back to another level 0 course for the fall. I’d do summer school, but we have trips to Greece, Italy, and France planned, so I am booked for the warm months. No, I am not complaining, not one bit!

8 thoughts on “Dare I hope…Spring?

  1. Well, there’s also the thing that if you’re traipsing around the world, you might be missing out on the full experience. There are aspects of Finnish summer that won’t feel like anything after being elsewhere because they are better over there. There’s also something to be said for the experience of the process of summer: You can see and feel it progress here but it requires attendance.

    Like

    • I do sometimes think it would be nice to get through the whole process of winter –> spring –> summer, but I wouldn’t trade the experiences of going to other countries for it. Maybe next year, we’ll be staying home. 🙂

      Like

    • Don’t forget the 24/7 sunlight. Even if the southern Finland doesn’t officially have “yötön yö” (“night without night”, midnight sun), in practice it really doesn’t get dark for couple of weeks.

      Like

Leave a Reply

